How I Stopped Sickness from Ruining Christmas

0_0_0_0_161_216_csupload_67980374It is that time of year where I see post after post of people catching one bug, or another.  People are either fighting the flu, or a cold.  You see it posted on social media, followed by numerous comments of others experiencing the exact same thing.

You would think it was some fun fad with how often I see these tales of illness woes flash across my screen.  My question is why??  I have discovered the secret to keeping myself healthy, but for some reason my story of wellness falls mostly on deaf ears.  As much as I want to help others avoid having to use their vacation time to stay home sick (or with a sick child), cancel travel plans, and miss out on fun activities with their family; I also know I cannot take that important first step for them in taking back their power over their own personal wellness.  Instead, most wait until they feel horribly sick and then just fill their bodies with pharmaceutical medications that do not actually help them recover, only mask the symptoms so they are less miserable while they are knocked down and out.

3days1I do not even own any of those medications and have not bought any in a couple of years. Not since I started my essential oil journey and learned the secret of supporting my system every day.  Today, after seeing yet another post from a sick friend I thought, what else can I do?  Well, I can write about how I avoided a round of horrible ickie sickes just a few days ago and offer to help others to do the same in their own lives and for their family.

A week ago, my daughter came to visit and brought with her a horrible bug that gave her a fever, stuffed up head, body aches, cough, and a horrible sore throat that she had had for days that did not seem to be getting better.  I busted out my essential oil arsenal and had her on the upswing within 24 hours, without adding any extra chemicals to her system with OTC medications.

10388184_10153607187087502_4632772974953659189_nFlash forward to just the other night… I realized I was feeling run down and had suddenly developed a sore throat that hurt to swallow, or talk!  Was I too late?  Would I end up sick as a dog as my daughter was just a few days before?  I knew there was a nasty little bug trying to root itself in my body and I also knew I was not going to allow it. Christmas was right around the corner and I had no intention of feeling miserable for days or weeks on end.

What did I do?  I pulled out my essential oil arsenal and walked my talk.  I used my sore throat spray that I had created for my daughter the last time she came over sick several months prior.  I pulled out my immune boosting roller balls filled with oily goodness like Thieves, frankincense, citrus oils, clove, tea tree, etc.  I used my essential oil vapor rub that I created in order to help others use natural alternatives for their relief.  I used them every few hours that night.  I made a cup of Thieves tea and added extra lemon essential oil and I ran my diffuser with immune boosting oils as well.  I was not going to ruin my streak of not being sick since I began this oily journey a year and a half ago.  What was my result?  I stopped it in its tracks and yes, I reversed it.  I woke up the next morning feeling just fine.  Does that mean I stop using my oils?  Not at all.  In fact, that is where a lot of people go wrong.  To me, pure therapeutic essential oils are just part of my daily life.  I use them to help every day things like supporting my immune system, respiratory support for my asthma, supporting my mood, supporting healthy sleep patterns, and of course aches and pains…just to name a few things off the top of my head.

I know many people believe essential oils are just a fad, or that they don’t work.  Honestly, it does not surprise me because let me let you in on a little secret…most of the oils you see in stores and on the market will not give you the results I talked about above. That is where it is important to do your research about the brand of oil you are using and make sure you are purchasing them from a trusted source.  It truthfully does make a difference in the results you will receive.  Did you know that companies can even label their oils 100% pure when they are not?  In fact, those oils may have just a small percentage of actual “pure” essential oil and then be filled with things that you do not want on, or in your body.  I will admit that for years, I was guilty of using those oils myself.  I went for the cheaper oils that smelled good because I honestly did not know any better.  What changed for me?  I was inspired to try and help my fiancé manage chronic illnesses that western medicine had been unable to help after nearly 3 years of trying.  Honestly, I was fed up with it and knew that there had to be a better way than trying medication after medication that only created more symptoms and side affects.  I knew nature supplies us with everything we need to create wellness from the inside out.  I began researching natural alternatives and am so thankful I did.  I meditated and went within for some soul guidance to help guide me through the hype that surrounds essential oils.  I asked to be lead to the oils that would actually help bring my family into balance.  If you are interested in learning more about the essential oils I trust for my family (both human and fur,) please follow the link on this site to read more:  https://divinelyinspired11.wordpress.com/young-living-oils/

Don’t you owe it to yourself to create a healthier home too?  2017 is right around the corner.  It is the year of new beginnings.  Why not start with something that is of the utmost importance, your health and wellness.  I am wishing you and your family a healthy & happy holiday season and a most excellent 2017.

Love & Light,

Jennifer

10519645_725525600879200_2487956202764133249_n

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

